The main building of Numazu Imperial Villa was built in 1893 as a retreat for Crown Prince Yoshihito, the future Emperor Taisho.
It was discontinued as an Imperial villa in 1969, after which it was loaned free of charge to the City of Numazu.
It opened to the public as the Numazu Goyotei Memorial Park in 1970.
The villa’s exteriors, interiors, and garden retain vestiges of its history as a retreat for the Imperial Family through the Meiji, Taisho, and Showa periods.
In addition to its historical value, it has an atmosphere that stirs the heart.
From early February to early March, “plum-viewing tea parties” are held,
where visitors can enjoy matcha green tea and Japanese sweets in the plum grove of the West Annex. (Separate fees apply.)
・Admission Only: Adult ￥100 / Child ￥50
・Viewing Fee Included: Adult ￥410 / Child ￥200
*Payment of the Viewing Fee allows visitors to see inside the West Annex.
*The East Annex is a rental space and is not open for public viewing.
About 18 minutes from Sanyo-so by car